Home / News / Archives


April 13, 2012. Zhechun "Lance" Zhang is one of the Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship awardees for the 2012-2013 academic year. The Fellowship carries a $10,000 stipend, $800 toward health insurance, and tuition remission for one semester. Wylie Fellows are expected to devote full attention to their dissertations. Mr. Zhang is a student of Professor Dave Thirumalai.

Fall 2011. Professor Dave Thirumalai organized an NSF-sponsored workshop in September 2011 entitled "RNA and Protein Folding and beyond: A vision for the next decade". The aim of the meeting was to identify major problems that need to be addressed in theory, simulations, and experiments in the coming decade so that one can describe in quantitative forms the role proteins and RNA play, in isolation and in concert, to carry out myriad functions at the cellular level.

Spring 2011. Second year Biophysics graduate student Christina M. Ketchum has been awarded a generous scholarship by the Metro Washington Chapter of the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Foundation (ARCS). The ARCS Foundation is a national, all-volunteer organization of women who are dedicated to providing scholarships for academically outstanding students pursuing degrees in certain disciplines of natural science, medicine, and engineering.

Spring 2011. Jie Chen (mentored by Dave Thirumalai) received the Inaugural Dissertation Award. Her dissertation is entitled "Link between dynamics and function in single and multi-subunit enzymes".

January 2011. Assistant Professor Joonil Seog (Bioengineering) won an NSF Career Award

Summer 2010. Biophysics Program Director Dave Thirumalai was selected Distinguished University Professor - Fall 2010 Michael E. Fisher (Physics and IPST) was named, with co-awardee Richard Zare of Stanford University, the winner of the BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences.