All Seminars start at 4:00pm and held in the Conference Room (1116) of the Institute for Physical Science and Technology (IPST) Building, unless otherwise noted. Light refreshments served at 3:45pm.

Jinwoo Lee, University of Maryland College Park
Hosted by Sergei Sukharev
Title: Ebola virus glycoprotein spike recruits cholesterol for efficient fusion
Time: 4:00PM - 5:00PM
Date: Monday, February 25, 2019

John Biddle, Harvard University
Hosted by Mikhail Anisimov
Title: Negative Reciprocity, Not Ordered Assembly, Underlies the Interaction of Sox2 and Oct4 on DNA
Time: 4:00PM - 5:00PM
Date: Monday, March 11, 2019

Quan Qing, Arizona State University
Hosted by Wolfgang Losert
Title: TBA
Time: 4:00PM - 5:00PM
Date: Monday, April 8, 2019

Office Locations

Sergei Sukharev - Program Director: Biology-Psychology Building, RM 3216

Souad Nejjar - Program Coordinator: Institute for Physical Science and Technology (IPST) Building, RM 2123

The Biophysics program is supported by the Institute for Physical Science and Technology.

About Us

Welcome to the Maryland Biophysics Program. The Biophysics Program brings together faculty from Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, and Physics working on questions at the intersection of the physical and life sciences. Please visit us for one of the weekly seminars and annual symposia with leading scientists. These events are open to the public, and bring together students and faculty from across campus and nearby institutions.

Read more about the Biophysics program...


Applying to fellowships or looking for a job after graduation, please visit this link.

The Biophysics Program has a broad range of research activities and close connections to federal research institutes in the Washington, D.C. area:

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Student Spotlight

Congratulations to Zachary Smith, first-year Biophysics student, on publishing his article "Multi-dimensional spectral gap optimization of order parameters (SGOOP) through conditional probability factorization" in the Journal of Chemical Physics.

Congratulations to Yalun Yu, second-year Biophysics student, on getting his article "Modeling Pseudomonas aeruginosa inner plasma membrane in planktonic and biofilm modes" published in the Journal of Chemical Physics.

Phillip Alvarez was awarded the National Science Foundation COMBINE Fellowship.

2018-2019 Dean's Fellowship Recipients: Zachary Smith, Keshav Srinivasan, Spandan Pathak, & Logan Kaler.

2018-2019 NCI-UMD Partnership Seed Award Recipients: Milos Nikolic, Yihang Wang, & Tsung-Jen Liao.

2018-2019 NIH Fellowship recipients: Alison Leonard, Ivan Rey Suarez, Yalun Yu, Stephanie Miller, John Giannini, Kyemyung Park, Simona Patange, & Michelle Baird.